top of page
  • Writer's pictureEECN Team, With Love

Why We Care: Fran

The concept of ‘pamilya,’  translated into English as family, is an essential component of Filipino culture and is a value I continue to hold dear. When I was three years old, my parents immigrated an ocean away to the United States and left me in the Philippines under the care of my grandmother. While my parents established a footing in their new home, my grandmother instilled the importance of family within me. I went to bed every night with a full stomach and a full heart: she fed me not only with delicious foods from the street market but also with her unrelenting kindness and love. Even after I eventually followed my parents to the United States, I would never forget the impact my grandmother had on my development. 


Another senior that embodied this sense of ‘pamilya’ in my life was my medical rotations internship mentor. In high school, I had the opportunity to shadow different departments in a local hospital and gain exposure to various specialties. My mentor, the former chief emeritus of vascular and general surgery within this hospital, provided me with a beacon of care and education. His guidance was a driving force in my decision to attend a combined medical program, and I attribute my success and happiness in this program to his support. 


These two seniors and the ‘pamilya’ they represent are why I joined the Elderly Embrace Care Network. The organization allows me to pay tribute to these crucial figures in my life by helping build intergenerational bridges with the senior population. I hope to expand this sense of ‘pamilya’ and establish a strong feeling of community between our seniors and other age groups.


Fran Inay

bottom of page