top of page
  • Writer's pictureEECN Team, With Love

Why We Care: Lamees

Working with the Elderly Embrace Care Network has been a great decision. I first got involved in this organization because I truly wanted to bring attention to points of views we don’t often consider. Throughout my childhood, I often spent a lot of time with my grandparents. Whether visiting them in my home country or going on vacations as a family with them, my grandparents have taught me a lot. From teaching me basic life lessons to laughing and joking with my brother and I to telling us stories about their travels all over the world, my grandparents have impacted me greatly. Therefore, I was saddened to see that they were not being supported properly by society in general. Two of EECN’s goals are to support and amplify elderly voices. These goals immediately attracted me to the organization.


While many are often sympathetic towards senior struggles like elder abuse and higher risks of Alzheimer’s, not many people and organizations stop to consider that elderly people are still people that can and do live full, fulfilling lives. I was often angered by the fact that elderly people close to me were treated like children, not supported properly, or treated like their opinions did not matter. I saw that their voices were often quieted when they tried to talk about the struggles that come with age, especially Alzheimer’s disease.


There were also many other projects that drew me to EECN. Projects like the network’s podcast where they interview elderly relatives and loved ones about their lives, the blog where members of the organization create and post informational articles about elderly issues, and the art project started to support seniors made it very clear that EECN is a group of people who wish to uplift seniors and share their stories.


As a result, I saw a great opportunity ahead of me when EECN reached out to me. Now, I work with the organization as a lead ambassador, and I help with fundraising projects as well as social media. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed making informational posts and infographics to inform others about real, often overlooked struggles that many elderly people face. Another one of the Elderly Embrace Care Network’s goals is to raise awareness about Alzheimer’s disease, as well as funds for the Anti-Alzheimer’s League. Personally, I have learned a great deal about issues that I myself did not read about before I joined the organization.


I am incredibly happy that I can help make a difference through the Elderly Embrace Care Network, even a small one. Teaching or impacting anyone in any way is very gratifying to me, and I hope to continue raising awareness about topics that are so important to my family and me.


Lamees Subeir



bottom of page