top of page
  • Writer's pictureEECN Team, With Love

Why We Care: Cate

Whenever I start a project, I tend to ask myself dozens of questions. How will I complete it? When will I complete it? When exactly will I work on it? Will I recruit anyone else to work on it with me? Who?


However, I never ask myself: Why? Why do I want to work on this project, anyway? We live in a world of endless possibilities. I consider myself to be an ambitious person, so I'm confident that if I put my mind to something I really, really, wanted, I could achieve it. Or at least, part of it. So, why this thing?


When I first became involved in the Elderly Embrace Care Network, dedicating my time to this organization was a no-brainer. It didn't take much consideration for me to become completely immersed in this project and increasing its outreach and impact. So, I thought it would be interesting to explore the: "Why?" In this new series, a few of the members of the Elderly Embrace Care Network are going to explain our connection to the organization; Why We Care.

My connection with the Elderly Embrace Care Network comes from my grandfather. He was the smartest person I've ever known. He grew up on a small farm in Batangas, a Filipino province. The youngest of 11 kids, he excelled in school. After graduating from college, he went to medical school in Manila, the capital of the Philippines. We still have his class ring.


After medical school, his professors recommended he completed a residency program in American to further his education. American hospitals had more resources, so he would become a better doctor. America was the land of opportunities. There, the world was your oyster.


While studying in Buffalo, New York, he met my grandmother, a Panamanian immigrant. They settled down in Indiana and started a family. Eventually, they had my aunt, my dad, and my two uncles.


A Filipino immigrant, he wasn't immune to the prejudices of the time. During the Vietnam War, many Americans developed a hatred towards East Asians. He was treated like an enemy, even though he was a healer. My dad has told me stories of ignorance, one being his failed attempt to buy a family car. The car salesman refused to serve him.


No matter what, my grandfather always stayed strong. He was a renowned doctor, not to mention a great father and grandfather. I'll remember him well; our whole family will.


Sadly, when I was very young, he was diagnosed with Alzheimer's. I'm not sure what the exact reason for his passing was, but I believe it had something to do with his diagnosis and other issues he had with his memory and brain function.


Because my paternal grandparents lived in Florida, we didn't see them often. I recall our interactions very vividly. I remember what it was like to lose a loved one to Alzheimer's. Even though I relive everything as I understood it when I was seven, a child, I still feel the hurt of having one of my favorite people in the world slowly forget who I was.


Mostly, it was confusing. I didn't understand what was happening to my lolo. I felt helpless. There was nothing I could do at that moment. Our situation was completely out of my hands; out of everyone's, for that matter.


I don't mean to make this article a sob-story. Rather, I just want to give a realistic interpretation of having a close relative or friend with Alzheimer's. It was painful, but it ignited a passion within me. It made me want to be a part of organizations like this; organizations dedicated to raising money for Alzheimer's and related diseases' research.


We get closer and closer each day to finding more advanced treatment for Alzheimer's and dementia; maybe someday, a cure. I love being able to contribute to such a worthy cause. And, with our current fundraiser or Alzheimer's research, you can, too.


I hope you enjoyed my story. As always, feel free to reach out with any questions or comments. Thank you so much for reading!


Cate Maldia

bottom of page